National Cricket Final

Wednesday, 28 September, 2011

Derbyshire County Cricket Club, County Ground, Derby
Wednesday 14th September 2011
Cheshire v Dyfed-Powys

This was to be the 1st year since the Competition began in 1975 that a Sponsor had become involved in the Police Cricket National Knockout including the Giffard Plate.

It is with thanks that PCU agreed back in April to support the Competition and it is hoped that the event has shown to be worthy of such Sponsorship.

The 2011 Final would see the much fancied Dyfed-Powys defending the Cup they won at Bristol in 2010 against new boys Cheshire who would looking to cause an upset.
On an overcast day that would be sprinkled with sunny intervals Mark Davies (Dyfed-Powys) had no hesitation in deciding to bat on winning the toss.

Dyfed were soon into their stride with Richard Grant and Huw Evans scoring freely to such an extent that the score read 60 - 0 of 6 overs as both batsmen found the boundary with ease once or twice an over. They were assisted by some untidy bowling from Cheshire forcing them to make early changes with the introduction of the "spin twins" Robin Fisher and Pete Barnett.

This proved a little more effective as the run rate did slow slightly when Huw Evans (36) picked out Phil Jones at deep square leg who took a great tumbling catch. A much needed wicket, but this failed to stem the flow of runs as Grant was joined by Gary Williams and the two continued to score at a high tempo.
Richard Grant finally fell for 111 becoming only the 2nd player to reach a century in a Final since it began back in 1975. Gary Williams added a fluent 78 and Cheshire did manage to check the runs with a flurry of late wickets as Dyfed-Powys finally closed on 318 - 7 off 45 overs.

A daunting task lay ahead of Cheshire and if they were to have a chance they would have to start positively and not allow themselves to fall behind the initial 7 per over required.

Newell and Morris both tried to play with aggression but with the early introduction of the Dyfed spin "quartet" the run rate soon increased as the ball started to turn sharply. None of the Cheshire batsmen were able to take control and increase the tempo. The run rate reached 10 per over with 20 overs remaining and Cheshire simply didn't have an answer to the Welsh spin.

The innings finally came to an end with score on 170 with a victory margin for Dyfed-Powys by 138 runs. Lee Morris top scored with 45 whilst the spinners had collected 9 of the 10 wickets to fall. Pick of the bowlers were Richard Grant 2-1-4-2, Mark Davies 8-1-31-3 and Gareth Grant 7-0-43-3.

A comfortable and well deserved win for the reigning Champions who have been the Team to beat in recent years. This was their 5th win since 2005 and they were also runners up in 2009.

Peter Evans (CEO Police Credit Union) presented the Man of the Match (HNL Blenkin Cup) to Richard Grant (Dyfed-Powys) and the City of London Cup to winning captain Mark Davies. Robin Fisher collected the Sussex Rose Bowl for the runners up Cheshire.

Marcus Beale (ACC West Midlands) Chairman of PSUK Cricket then thanked Police Credit Union for their Sponsorship of the 2011 Competition adding that he hoped the association would continue for future years.

Dyfed-Powys 318 - 7
Richard Grant 111 Gary Williams 78 Simon Cole 36 Huw Evans 32

Cheshire 170
Lee Morris 45 Roger Smith 28 Ray Doyle 26
Mark Davies 8-1-31-3 Gareth Grant 7-0-43-3 Richard Grant 2-1-4-2

Return to news menu