Nominations needed for BAWP annual awards 2010

Friday, 11 December, 2009

Do you know a female colleague who has done something amazing or who has really gone that extra mile? Then here is the chance to put them forward for some national, even international, recognition.

The British Association for Women in
Policing (BAWP) awards, which are in their
fourth year, are the only awards in the UK to specifically focus on and recognise the contributions and achievements of women within the police service.

Whether someone has shown outstanding
bravery, affinity with the communities they serve, or simply excelled in what they have done, there is a category to fit.

The categories are:

• Officer of the Year
• Leadership
• Community Service.

This may be job-related activities
or non-work volunteer or neighbourhood

• Mentoring
• Excellence in Performance
• Bravery Award
• Police Staff Achievement
• Special Recognition Award.

This is for an individual - male or
female - who has made a significant
contribution and commitment to the
advancement of women in policing.

• Benenden Healthcare Award.

This award will be given to an individual
(male or female) who has implemented a successful staff well-being programme or who has otherwise influenced and promoted
a healthy workforce within the police service.

You can find the full category details and a copy for the official application form on the BAWP website. The deadline for applications is January 31, 2010.

All categories are open to female police officers, special constables, PCSOs and police staff. It is intended that the winners of each category, where eligible, will be nominated for the IAWP awards.

• All winners will be notified after March
1, 2010. All application forms must be
emailed on the official application form
to the BAWP secretary Carolyn Williamson on

Return to news menu